Hi-Hat Hattie

A Musical Salute to Hattie McDaniel

Show 2 | November 28th – December 13th, 2015

Today, Hattie McDaniel is celebrated as the first African-American to win an Academy Award for her role as “Mammy” in GONE WITH THE WIND. But before she became one of Hollywood’s most sought-after character actresses, Hattie starred in Vaudeville as a popular singer and comedienne. She was also the very first African-American in the United States to sing on the radio! In Hollywood, she appeared with virtually every major star, including Shirley Temple, Mae West, Bette Davis, Humphrey Bogart and Katharine Hepburn. She also appeared with the legendary Paul Robeson in SHOWBOAT singing “Can’t Help Loving that Man of Mine.”

This heart-warming tribute to Hattie McDaniel was written by Larry Parr and features a variety of songs Hattie performed throughout her career, such as “Amazing Grace,” “St. Louis Woman,” “Gimme Me A Pigfoot and a Bottle of Beer,” “Old Man River” and the Johnny Mercer-Harold Arlen show-stopper, “The Birth of the Blues.”

Hattie McDaniel will be portrayed by the talented singer-actress EVELYN RUSSELL, who earned a “Best Actress of the Year” Award for her 2012 portrayal of Ethel Waters in the musical, HIS EYE IS ON THE SPARROW.

 

Schedule:

Saturday, Nov. 28 at 2PM & 8PM

Sunday, Nov. 29 at 2PM

Thursday, Dec. 3 at 8PM

Friday, Dec. 4 at 8PM

Saturday, Dec. 5 at 2PM & 8PM

Sunday, Dec. 6 at 2PM

Thursday, Dec. 10 at 8PM

Friday, Dec. 11 at 8PM

Saturday, Dec. 12 at 2PM & 8PM

Sunday, Dec. 13 at 2PM


All Tickets $30
Call 561-272-1281 Ext.4