Audition Schedule

2017-2018 Audition Schedule

 

The Amorous Ambassador

An American Farce by Michael Parker

Auditions: August 21 and 22

(4 Men / 4 Women)

Harry Douglas (who we met last Season as “The Sensuous Senator”) is back…only now he has become our Ambassador to Great Britain! Alas, along with his new responsibilities, he has developed an even more urgent need for romantic dalliances. When he tells his wife he’s planning a golfing weekend, she announces that she plans to go to a spa. So Harry immediately make plans to use the vacant house for a romantic tryst with a sexy neighbor. Hearing that the house will be empty, Harry’s daughter plans her own romantic weekend. Soon Harry’s usually unflappable British butler is at his wit’s end trying to keep a houseful of “weekend lovers” from discovering each other’s secrets. [Rehearsals for the show will begin on September 5.]

Performance Dates:

  • Friday, October 6 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 7 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 7 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, October 8 @ 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, October 11 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, October 12 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, October 13 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 14 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 14 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, October 15 @ 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, October 19 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, October 20 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 21 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, October 21 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, October 22 @ 2:00 pm

Annie Get Your Gun!

A Musical by Irving Berlin

Auditions: September 18 and 19

(Full Cast of Actors, Singers and Dancers of All Ages)

Irving Berlin’s classic musical about Annie Oakley (a backwoods hillbilly who joins BUFFALO BILL’S WILD WEST SHOW) and her stormy relationship with sharp-shooter Frank Butler remains one of the greatest musicals in the history of the American Theatre. Featuring great character roles (like Buffalo Bill, Chief Sitting Bull and the musical comedy tam of Charlie Davenport and Dolly Tate) as well as some wonderful roles for Annie’s siblings aged 5 to 15, ANNIE GET YOUR GUN is Berlin’s greatest score, with songs like “I Can’t Get a Man With a Gun,” “I Got Lost in His Arms,” “Anything You Can Do (I Can Do Better)” and the Musical Theatre’s favorite anthem, “There’s No Business Like Show Business.”

Performance Dates:

  • Friday, December 1 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 2 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 2 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, December 3 @ 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, December 6 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, December 7 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, December 8 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 9 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 9 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, December 10 @ 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, December 14 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, December 15 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 16 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, December 16 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, December 17 @ 2:00 pm

And The World Goes Round: The Music of Kander & Ebb

The Music of John Kander and Fred Ebb

Auditions: December 4 and 5

(2 Men / 3 Women)

John Kander and Fred Ebb met in 1962 and wrote a song that became an instant hit: “My Coloring Book.” They continued to write together for over four decades and created some of the most popular, groundbreaking musicals of their era, including CABARET, CHICAGO, THE HAPPY TIME, KISS OF THE SPIDER WOMAN and WOMAN OF THE YEAR. Their Broadway standards include “All That Jazz,” “Maybe This Time,” “The Grass is Always Greener,” “Don’t Tell Mama,” “Wilkommem. “Mr. Cellophane” and “All I Care About is Love.” They also wrote for Liza Minnelli’s TV specials (“Ring them Bells” and “Sara Lee”) and films like NEW YORK, NEW YORK and FUNNY WOMAN (“How Lucky Can You Get?”). [Rehearsals will begin on December 11.]

Performance Dates:

  • Friday, February 2, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 3, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 3, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 4, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, February 7, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, February 8, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, February 9, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 10, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 10, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 11, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, February 15, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, February 16, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 17, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, February 17, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, February 18, 2018 @ 2:00 pm

Blackout

A Mystery Thriller by Rick Harlowe

Auditions: January 8 and 9

(4 Men / 5 Women)

In this suspenseful play, we learn that 13 years ago a small boy was abducted and brutally murdered in a small town. Since everyone in this small community knew each other so well, it was assumed at the time that the murderer must have been a vagrant and the case was never solved. But one day a mysterious letter arrives indicating that another child may also be in danger, indicating that the murderer everyone assumed to be a passing stranger may (in fact) be one of their own neighbors. This play has great roles for a wealthy matriarch, two young girls (12 to 15 years old), a young man in his early 20’s and several powerful adult roles. [Rehearsals for the show will begin on February 5.]

Performance Dates:

  • Friday, March 23, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 24, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, March 25, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, March 28, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, March 29, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, March 30, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, March 31, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, April 1, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, April 5, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, April 6, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, April 7, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, April 8, 2018 @ 2:00 pm

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

A Play by Edward Albee

Auditions: January 22 and 23

(2 Men / 2 Women)

Edward Albee shook Broadway to its core with this powerful study of a wildly dysfunctional marriage. The play takes place on the campus of a small college. After a faculty meeting, George (an associate professor) and his wife Martha invite a new teacher and his wife (Nick and Honey) over for drinks. What begins as a casual meet-and greet soon escalates into one of the most explosive evenings ever witnessed in the American theatre, as Martha (exasperated by her husband’s lack of achievement) begins to goad him with a caustic, lacerating wit that is alternately hilarious and bone-chilling. Then she turns on her guests for a round of what she calls “Fun and Games.” The rest is theatrical history. [Rehearsals begin on March 26.]

Performance Dates:

  • Friday, May 18, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, May 19, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, May 20, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Wednesday, May 23, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Thursday, May 24, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, May 25, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, May 26, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, May 27, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Thursday, May 31, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Friday, June 1, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018 @ 2:00 pm
  • Saturday, June 2, 2018 @ 8:00 pm
  • Sunday, June 3, 2018 @ 2:00 pm

All Auditions will be held at The Delray Beach Playhouse at 7:30 PM.

Prepared monologues are welcome, but not necessary. For further information, call (561) 272-1281 Ext. 4.